Morning!

Toward the door, all are sleeping as the sky turned black hours ago. Jumping to hike my jacket out from under my backpack, my hands zip it instinctively. Inhaling the last of the warm air of Pettingill Hall, I push through the glass doors, sensing a weight lifted and resettled.

Back to the dorm, I feel admittedly useless as the stars, shining just as proud as last night, make my tiny footsteps feel especially small.

I recall the day: I could’ve been a better friend; I could’ve been a better student; I could’ve been a better person—

[I tried my best and though that is not always my best, I tried.]

800_6208

I wish I could simply spend my days meandering any number of paths, labeling ‘wrong’ turns ‘right’ and ‘right’ turns ‘left’. No room for expectation. No room for disappointment.

Only space is left behind.

Space to dream, find the stars, embody their light–

even as they disappear each day.

800_6209.JPG

Maybe tomorrow I can be better.

Maybe these muffins will help.

Surely, these muffins will help.

 

Morning Muffins

yield: 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup melted coconut oil (plus more to grease pan)
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 bananas (overripe)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 2 cups coconut flakes

Instructions:

  • mix coconut oil and maple syrup
  • add eggs with whisk
  • add bananas (mix and mash with whisk)
  • mix baking soda, vanilla extract, salt and cinnamon
  • switch to spoon and food in flour and coconut flakes just until mixed
  • place into coconut oil glazed pan (makes 12 and they don’t really rise, so you can fill the pan)
  • bake at 325 degrees for 24 minutes
Leave a Reply

