Smiling in the Sun for Spring has Sprung

Today was beautiful. 50 or more degrees, a light breeze that didn’t hurt my face, but rather brushed over it, and sun that warmed my jeans like a heated seat.

To bring in this spring after a unexpectedly gross, long, tiring first full week of April, I decided: what better weekend than this to begin a project for the summer-a garden.

800_4233

To begin, I did some research but decided to just jump in with some seeds and supplies. I got my mom to come along for the seed purchasing because I wanted to have her input (she is the one who cooks here most often, after all). These are the veggies that made the final cut:

  • Eggplant
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Beets
  • Zucchini
  • Butternut squash
  • Okra
  • Carrots
  • Cucumber
  • Corn

800_4257 (okra)

800_4258 (beet)

800_4255 (pepper)

800_4256 (cucumber)

800_4249800_4250

800_4251800_4253

800_4264

This is the first time I have done this growing-from-seed thing, so a lot will be trial and error, but I am SO excited. Even when the sun went beyond the horizon and the tips of my fingers began protesting the cold with each new hole, I was able to enjoy my sniffling nose.

As of now, all the seeds are in flats in our dining room under small plastic roofs where they will get plenty of sun as they begin life and hopefully peek up from the depths I put them in today. Most are supposed to take around 10 days to germinate, so the countdown has begun!

While I was at it with the veggies, I planted some flowers too because, well, why not? (my dad bought these seeds about a week ago and included the cactus seeds pictured below! i cannot wait to see what happens with them!)

800_4239

800_4237

800_4243

The next step is to get the actual garden ready. Currently it is my dad’s rose garden, however he has decided to give up some of his space for this project (especially since the roses haven’t been doing too well the past couple years). Tomorrow morning, I hope to get out there with him and begin moving those thorny bushes around to make room! On Monday, I am going to call Mr. Fox Composting to request some wonderful organic matter. I also hope to be in touch with my neighbor to see if she would be willing to pull up a couple of her asparagus plants and give me the roots. If you plant these ‘asparagus crowns’, it takes only 3 years until you get a crop instead of about 4-5 if you grow from seed.

That is what is coming up in the garden and tomorrow you will see what is, in my mind, a perfect Sunday night.

Stay tuned!

~cherish~

Leave a Reply

