New Month-New Start + Guacamole

Greetings and thank you for following me to my second post! Today (well, yesterday… its 12:03AM now) I was up around the same time and realized it was February! I then looked over my shoulder, out my window and saw everything looked the same-the street light was on, an occasional car drove by, and most everyone around me was asleep. It is interesting to think about: a whole new month, yet everything looks exactly the same. Sometimes we don’t even realize it is a new month until we turn on our phones! Shouldn’t we recognize and do something more with this chance we get every three weeks or so to press the re-start button? I mean, we make this huge deal for New Years, but what about all the new months all throughout the year!? It just seems weird to me. So, this month I want to try and really do something I have always wanted to each day-something noteworthy-like standing in the middle of the road to take pictures at 12:30AM.

_DSC0028

_DSC0023

_DSC0026

Now, after that adventure and one of the soundest sleeps I’ve had in a LONG time, I awoke and had a wonderful first day of this month with my brother and dad. We went cross-country skiing for the second time in two days because it was just so beautiful :) The beautifully blue sky seemed to see the snow and decide the perfect hue to match it’s white and green of the evergreens we were surrounded by. The sun even came out to bring some warmth to our spirits when we began to tire.

Once we got home, I finished up my homework in time to create some of this guacamole and these nachos with my brother in preparation for the game! We actually spent most of the first half in the kitchen half-watching  and half-creating these masterpieces. The boys weren’t quite as excited for the sweet potato nachos as I was, but they both tried them and thought they were quite yummy :) (Thanks to Two Peas in Their Pod for the inspiration!) Look after the photos for the guacamole recipe and I hope you had a lovely weekend and are ready for the oncoming snow (if you are in the northeast, that is)

_DSC0035

_DSC0033

DSC_0039

GUACAMOLE

yield: about 3 cups

Ingredients:

  • 3 smaller avocados
  • 1 small sweet onion
  • 10 or so twigs of parsley
  • juice from 1/2 of a lemon or about 2 squirts of lemon juice
  • salt to taste

Instructions:

  1. chop the sweet onion very finely (we used one of these mincer things, which works great, or you can practice your knife skills and go at it that way)
  2. mince the parsley (this is easier to cut up with a knife-it would just get stuck in the mincer)
  3. cut up the avocados and put all in a bowl
  4. mash the avocados with a fork until they are your desired creamy or chunky
  5. add in the onions, parsley, and lemon juice and mix a bit more with the fork
  6. taste test and add necessary amount of salt or more of anything for that matter!
  7. place in a serving bowl and enjoy!

Tid Bits:

Guacamole may be conventionally used with chips, however spreading it on toast or a rice cake makes a great quick breakfast. Also, dipping an egg cooked any way in some is marvelous, especially in addition to some salsa. Lastly, if you are feeling adventurous and you have some ripe pears and bleu cheese, try putting all three on a piece of toast or in a wrap-really yummy!!!)

Thanks for sharing your time with me and please email me with any questions/concerns/thoughts/critiques!

~love~

2 thoughts on “New Month-New Start + Guacamole

  1. tom gaillard says:

    I’ll confirm that they were unusual, and very good, nachos (even with the sweet potato- a starch I don’t particularly admire). The guac was excellent, and I’m certain it’s the real reason the Pats won the Super Bowl!

    Thanks for sharing your ‘1st day of the month’ thoughts, K!

    Like

  2. Peg Gaillard says:

    Katharine! I love your writing and the recipe sounds amazing too. Keep the thoughts, inspirations, recipes and photos coming! Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

